IFPUG certification practice Updated for 2026

IFPUG I40-420 Certified Function Point Specialist

Build exam-day confidence with verified questions, detailed explanations, timed simulator sessions, and flexible download formats.

351 questions September 03, 2026 90 days free updates Instant access
Expert verified Save
$80.99
Complete preparation pack

I40-420 PDF & Test Engine Bundle

The most complete path from first review to final simulator run.

  • 351 verified questions and answers
  • Premium PDF and exam simulator files
  • Detailed explanations for every answer
  • Free updates for 90 days
$133.98 75% off
$52.99

44 learners downloaded this file in the last 7 days

Choose your format

Practice the way you learn best.

Every format includes the current question set and 90 days of updates.

PDF Only

Printable Premium PDF only

45% off
$62.99 $34.99

Test Engine Only

Test Engine File for 3 devices and Web Test Engine

45% off
$70.99 $39.99
Question coverage

A complete map of the current exam.

Use the breakdown to plan review sessions around the highest-volume domains.

Question types

351total
  • Single Choices 254
  • Hotspots 36
  • Simulations 61
Learn from every answer Every answer includes an explanation.

Exam topics

01 Definitions 125 questions
02 Implementations 107 questions
03 Case Studies 99 questions
Last month

Preparation that translates into results.

61learners passed IFPUG I40-420
90.4%average reported exam score
89.1%question similarity reported
Know the exam

Everything you need before scheduling.

Introduction of IFPUG I40-420 Exam!

The purpose of the credential is to validate industry-based knowledge associated with function point analysis through the IFPUG CFPS/CFPP certification. Pearson VUE’s Brightest page lists this certification under the International Function Point Users Group and describes Brightest examinations as a way to measure and confirm professional knowledge against supported certification standards. The supplied official material does not provide a fuller CFPS-specific description, syllabus, or competency statement. For an accurate explanation of what the current credential covers, consult the IFPUG certification documentation and the Brightest exam listing. Candidates should distinguish the certification’s assessment purpose from optional training: a course may support preparation, but registration and certification requirements are controlled by the program owner.

What is the Duration of IFPUG I40-420 Exam?

The duration is not publicly fixed in the supplied official Pearson VUE information. The Brightest listing identifies the International Function Point Users Group (IFPUG) Certified Function Point Specialist/Practitioner (CFPS/CFPP), but it does not state a testing time. Candidates should confirm the current duration when registering through Brightest or the relevant IFPUG exam information. This matters for planning more than simply reserving a calendar slot: check the appointment confirmation, arrive early for identity and system checks, and understand any break or rescheduling rules before exam day. Do not rely on timings published for another IFPUG assessment or an older version unless the official program confirms they still apply.

What are the Number of Questions Asked in IFPUG I40-420 Exam?

The number of questions is not published in the supplied official Pearson VUE research. The Brightest page confirms that CFPS/CFPP is available through its supported certification catalogue, but it does not disclose the total quantity of exam items. Candidates should verify the current question count in the IFPUG exam documentation or during the Brightest registration process rather than using figures from third-party preparation sites. Knowing the count can help with pacing, yet it should not replace careful study of the official content. If the provider changes the assessment structure, an older item total may no longer describe the exam you schedule.

What is the Passing Score for IFPUG I40-420 Exam?

The passing score is not publicly confirmed in the supplied official Pearson VUE information. Pearson VUE lists the IFPUG CFPS/CFPP examination, but the research does not state a percentage, scaled score, or section-level threshold. Check the current IFPUG certification rules or the official Brightest registration information for the applicable scoring policy. Candidates should also confirm how results are reported and whether any retake conditions apply. Avoid treating an unofficial target as an official pass standard; practice results are useful for identifying weak areas, but only the certification owner’s published rules determine whether an attempt meets the requirement.

What is the Competency Level required for IFPUG I40-420 Exam?

The expected competency level is not explicitly classified as foundational, intermediate, or advanced in the supplied official sources. The credential’s title and IFPUG association indicate a specialist or practitioner focus, but that wording alone does not establish an official difficulty tier or entry level. Candidates should use the current IFPUG syllabus, competency guidance, and eligibility information to judge readiness. A sensible self-check is whether you can explain the program’s required concepts and apply its documented method consistently, not merely recognize terminology. If your background is limited, structured training or supervised practice may reveal gaps before you book the assessment.

What is the Question Format of IFPUG I40-420 Exam?

The question format is not specified in the supplied Pearson VUE research for CFPS/CFPP. The official Brightest material identifies the certification and provides registration and delivery links, but it does not say whether the assessment uses multiple-choice items, scenarios, calculations, constructed responses, or another item type. Confirm the current format through IFPUG or the exam program’s official candidate information. Preparation should match that documented format: learn the underlying rules, practise applying them to representative examples, and follow any permitted-calculator or reference-material instructions. Do not infer the format from unrelated Brightest certifications.

How Can You Take IFPUG I40-420 Exam?

Online delivery and test-center availability should be confirmed during registration because the supplied official pages do not state a CFPS/CFPP-specific appointment method. Pearson VUE’s Brightest resources provide links to find a test center, view exams, and access OnVUE online testing information, while Brightest directs candidates to its login portal to schedule, reschedule, or cancel. Availability can depend on location and appointment capacity. After selecting an option, review the confirmation carefully, including identification, equipment, workspace, and check-in requirements. Use the official Brightest portal rather than assuming that every country offers both delivery choices.

What Language IFPUG I40-420 Exam is Offered?

The available languages are English, Italian, Brazilian Portuguese, Spanish, Japanese, and Korean, according to Pearson VUE’s official Brightest listing for IFPUG CFPS/CFPP. Language availability can still be affected by the specific appointment or current program settings, so confirm the selectable language before payment and scheduling. The Brightest site displays a broader interface-language selector, but that should not be confused with the examination languages listed for this certification. If you need an accommodation or translated support, review the official testing information and contact Brightest before booking rather than assuming that an interface translation changes the exam language.

What is the Cost of IFPUG I40-420 Exam?

The cost is not publicly fixed in the supplied official research. Pearson VUE’s Brightest pages identify the CFPS/CFPP exam and provide access to registration, but they do not show a current price, voucher value, currency, tax treatment, or retake fee. Candidates should sign in through brightest.org/login or follow the official IFPUG registration guidance to see the amount applicable to their location and appointment. Confirm what the payment covers before completing checkout, since training, membership, vouchers, accommodations, and rescheduling may be handled separately. Treat third-party prices as estimates only unless the official program confirms them.

What is the Target Audience of IFPUG I40-420 Exam?

The intended audience is professionals seeking IFPUG recognition for function point specialist or practitioner knowledge. Pearson VUE’s Brightest catalogue names the credential as “Certified Function Point Specialist/Practitioner (CFPS/CFPP)” under the International Function Point Users Group. The supplied sources do not define a narrower job-role list, so the certification should not be presented as limited to one title or department. Potential candidates should compare the current IFPUG competency requirements with their work, study, or measurement responsibilities. That comparison can help determine whether the credential supports a career goal in software measurement, analysis, estimation, or related practice.

What is the Average Salary of IFPUG I40-420 Certified in the Market?

Salary information is not established by the CFPS/CFPP listing, and the supplied official sources provide no compensation figures. A certification can document relevant knowledge, but it does not set salary, guarantee a job, or determine a person’s pay. Compensation varies with location, employer, seniority, responsibilities, industry, and broader technical or analytical experience. Candidates evaluating the credential should examine current vacancies in their target market and compare the skills employers request with the IFPUG certification scope. Use salary surveys and job postings as separate evidence, and avoid treating promotional earnings claims as an official outcome of certification.

Who are the Testing Providers of IFPUG I40-420 Exam?

Pearson VUE is the testing provider supporting the Brightest delivery route for IFPUG CFPS/CFPP in the supplied official catalogue. The Pearson pages provide candidate functions such as finding a test center, viewing exams, accessing online-testing information, and contacting customer service. Brightest also instructs candidates to log in through its portal for scheduling, rescheduling, and cancellation, with redirection to the testing program’s website when needed. Confirm the final registration path for your country and exam version before paying. For program-specific eligibility or content questions, consult IFPUG or Brightest rather than assuming Pearson VUE defines the certification rules.

What is the Recommended Experience for IFPUG I40-420 Exam?

Recommended experience is not stated in the supplied official Pearson VUE research. The listing confirms the CFPS/CFPP certification but does not publish a minimum period, job-history requirement, or hands-on prerequisite. Candidates should therefore check the current IFPUG candidate rules before deciding whether they are ready. Relevant exposure to software measurement or function point work may make the material easier to contextualize, but it should not be described as an official requirement without program evidence. Review the syllabus, practise the documented method, and seek clarification from IFPUG if your education or professional background does not fit a standard pathway.

What are the Prerequisites of IFPUG I40-420 Exam?

No formal prerequisite is confirmed in the supplied official sources. Pearson VUE’s Brightest page lists IFPUG CFPS/CFPP and explains how candidates can register, but it does not state required training, membership, education, work experience, or a prior certification. Before scheduling, consult the current IFPUG certification policy and the Brightest registration instructions for eligibility conditions that may apply to your route or location. Keep evidence of any requested training or status only after the official program identifies it as necessary. Do not assume that taking a preparation course, or skipping one, automatically satisfies the program’s requirements.

What is the Expected Retirement Date of IFPUG I40-420 Exam?

The retirement or replacement status is not publicly confirmed in the supplied research. The current Pearson VUE Brightest catalogue lists IFPUG “Certified Function Point Specialist/Practitioner (CFPS/CFPP),” which shows that the credential appears in the referenced catalogue, but the snapshot does not provide a retirement date, replacement credential, renewal policy, or version history. Candidates planning an investment should verify the live Brightest listing and IFPUG announcements immediately before registration. If a program owner changes the title, exam version, or delivery route, its official notice should take precedence over archived pages and third-party catalogue entries.

What is the Difficulty Level of IFPUG I40-420 Exam?

A practical roadmap is to verify the current IFPUG scope first, build the underlying terminology and method, practise applying the rules, and then confirm registration details through Brightest. Start by locating the official candidate guide or syllabus and noting its learning objectives. Organize study around concepts that you cannot explain or apply consistently, using worked examples rather than memorization alone. Next, check the official rules for duration, format, language, delivery, identification, accommodations, and scheduling because the supplied Pearson VUE snapshot does not confirm several of those details. Finish with timed, legitimate practice and a final review of the appointment instructions.

What is the Roadmap / Track of IFPUG I40-420 Exam?

The exact topics and skills measured are not provided in the supplied Pearson VUE research. The official listing identifies the IFPUG CFPS/CFPP credential, but it does not reproduce the exam blueprint, domains, objectives, weighting, or content areas. Candidates should obtain the current IFPUG syllabus or candidate handbook and treat that document as the study authority. Preparation should cover every published objective, with emphasis on applying the documented function point method accurately to examples rather than memorizing isolated definitions. Recheck the blueprint before studying because content coverage can change when the certification owner updates an exam.

What are the Topics IFPUG I40-420 Exam Covers?

Official practice-question availability is not confirmed in the supplied Pearson VUE material. Candidates should look first for sample questions, a candidate guide, or practice-test guidance published by IFPUG or linked from the official Brightest program information. Use legitimate practice to learn the wording, reasoning process, and application of the documented method; do not use leaked questions or exam dumps. When no official mock exam is offered, create exercises from the published objectives and verify the reasoning against authoritative study material. Practice should expose misunderstandings and pacing issues, not encourage memorization of an unverifiable item bank.

What are the Sample Questions of IFPUG I40-420 Exam?

The difficulty is not officially rated in the supplied Pearson VUE information, so candidates should not rely on labels such as easy, advanced, or expert. The CFPS/CFPP title signals a specialist or practitioner assessment, but the official snapshot does not publish its blueprint, scoring, item types, or prerequisite level. Preparation should begin with the current IFPUG syllabus and candidate guidance, followed by deliberate practice applying the rules to representative measurement situations. Track errors by concept rather than simply repeating questions. This approach gives a more defensible readiness estimate than comparing the certification with unrelated IT exams.